Requisites for Leadership

Twice a week, my English class is given “Brain Fuel” time.  During this time, our teacher instructs us to read, but not just novels.  We can read anything as long as it expands our knowledge (so no gossip magazines, comic books, etc.).  Most people stick to novels, blogs, and articles (magazine and internet).  Today, my classmate shared this article, Shut Up and Listen (And Other Advice for First-Time Leaders), with me.

The article talks about what it takes to be a great leader and I found it very interesting.  However, I noticed that it left some things out, which didn’t surprise me.  To write an amazing, fully-detailed article on leadership would be to write a 300-page book.  There are so many things to say about the act of leading others that an article will just not do the trick.

“Shut Up and Listen” left me wondering: I’ve seen all of this advice, heard all of these tips.  It was an interesting, well-written article, but there’s nothing about it that I will remember tomorrow.  That’s why I found this video.  It’s short, to-the-point, and memorable.

Leave a Reply

