The Benefits of Being a Scholar-Athlete

This is a blog post I published on October 21st, 2012.  A link to my old blog, “Where Life Meets Sports,” can be found at the end of this post.

scholar-athlete

From the time I wrote my previous blog and posed the question “Is being a scholar-athlete really worth it?,” so much has taken place.  It is a miracle that my stance on this issue has not changed.  The past three weeks have been the busiest of my life due to my choice to be a scholar-athlete.  Three weeks ago, when I posed the question, I fully intended to answer it affirmatively.  However, everything that could have occurred to change my mind did occur.  Surprisingly, I still want to answer the question with a confident “Yes.  Being a scholar-athlete is definitely worth it.”

I try not to bore you with my personal life (although, in some situations, it could be entertaining to others).  But, I must summarize the happenings of the last three weeks to get my point across.  It started with the injuring of my arm (my throwing arm), the most crucial part of the body to a baseball player.  By no means, was the injury painful or severe.  It was just enough to put me on the shelf for about a month.  It was also just enough to require physical therapy, which just so happens to be thirty minutes (without traffic) from my house.  Also, just as any aspiring high school student, I enrolled in an SAT preparation class, which is held every Wednesday and Saturday for three hours and four hours respectively.  These were thrown on top of my initial schedule.

In what way is that beneficial?  Some may argue that it’s not and they may be able to provide some excellent examples and statistics.  But, who are you going to believe, a pencil-pusher who sits at his desk all day gathering information or me, a student-athlete?  I am going to be honest, these past three weeks have been terrible.  My stress levels have exponentially increased.  I have not been able to play the game that provides me relief; instead, I have been forced to watch my teammates and friends enjoy the beautiful game of baseball while I am left to wonder how long it will be until I can play again   So, why is it that every time I feel overwhelmed, like I will not be able to continue my success, I can’t help but smile?

I know the stress I incur now will benefit me greatly in the near future.  I will have such an advantage over those who, although they may be smarter or more physically gifted, have not gone through what I am going through right now.  I know how to balance my time and how to cope with stress.  I know how to persevere.  I know how to persist.  The experience I gained, and am still gaining, can and will only benefit me later.

Perseverance.  Accountability.  Leadership.  Teamwork.  Socialization.  Discipline.  Time management.  One cannot argue that these skills, just a few of the talents that are offered, are not beneficial.  For those of you who are pessimists, four years of “suffering” is a relatively small amount of time to commit to the development of many much-needed skills.  Personally, I enjoy the life of a scholar-athlete.  I embrace it as a new challenge each day.  It’s almost as if I created a game to keep life interesting.  How much can I put on my back and still go on?

Last of the benefits, but certainly not least, is the prevention of laziness.  To be a scholar-athlete one cannot be lazy. This does not mean scholar-athletes cannot enjoy themselves or relax once in a while.  It means they cannot be lazy. I am not sure how teenagers behave all around the country, or even the world, but in my society, laziness is rampant. I have come to the conclusion that it is not “cool” to work hard.  Especially in the United States, obesity is an enormous threat.  Laziness contributes heavily to America’s obesity.  How can one eliminate laziness?  It is difficult, most being creatures of habit.  The want and desire to work hard has to be instilled at a young age.  The best way to do that is encouraging the path of a scholar-athlete.  Aside from preventing laziness, it will help develop crucial skills to succeed.

Here is the link to my original blog: http://danielrosica.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

