Excitement Fuels Happiness

While reading 1984, I realized how fortunate we are to live in such a free society. We can go to the park with friends and not be suspected of conspiracy. We can create great memories without having to worry about oppression. I cannot imagine living my life as one of the characters of George Orwell’s 1984. My life would be deficient of excitement, which is essential to happiness. The following is a short narrative on one of the most exciting moments of my life.

“Get in there Rosica!” my coach shouted during the middle of the final inning.  I didn’t have to ask; I knew I was supposed to run out to left field.  I grabbed my glove and headed to the often-forgotten, least-glorious position in the back corner of the field.

Get in there Rosica!

Our opponent was Marina, who we happened to be tied with for first place.  The game would set the tone for the rest of the season and the winner would gain crucial momentum.  We were winning by one run, but Marina was threatening with two runners on and no outs in the last inning.  This was the most critical part of our season thus far.

As I sprinted towards left field, I had one thing on my mind: “I have to do everything in my power to help my team win.”  I wasn’t thinking about how this was one of the first times I was getting the opportunity to play.  I wasn’t thinking about how I was the new guy on the team.  I wasn’t thinking about how I had to prove myself.  I wasn’t thinking about the possibility of losing. I was, however, focused on winning.

After our new pitcher had warmed up, the game resumed and we quickly recorded two outs.  I was immediately overcome with a feeling, not a common one, but one that I was familiar with.  In my past experiences I had associated this feeling with nervousness.  However, I soon realized it was not nervousness; it was excitement.  I was anxious to help my team.  I desperately wanted the next batter to hit the ball in my direction.  My wish was granted and as soon as the ball left the batter’s bat, I took off to my right.

Stop saying you’re nervous and start saying you’re excited!

It’s hard to remember exactly how the next few seconds played out because it happened so quickly.  Shortly after starting to my right, something happened.  I could no longer hear the fans cheering or the coaches yelling.  I could no longer feel my legs moving.  The only thing I was aware of was my sight.  I was so focused on seeing the ball that I had to remind myself to blink in order to prevent my contacts from drying out.  Suddenly, I felt my body spring forward into a headlong dive, as if there were a pool below me.  After rolling over, I looked in my glove for something that I knew would be there: the ball.  I jumped to my feet, pulled the ball out of my glove, and started running towards the dugout as I saw the umpire raise his fist in the air to signal “out.”

Diving Catch

I accomplished more in that short time than I had in my whole baseball career.  Not only did I make a fantastic play, but I helped my team win an important game.  With that one diving catch, I gained the trust and respect of my teammates and coaches.  With that one diving catch, I became a part of the team.

Leave a Reply

